This is a discussion on is the _vti_pvt folder safe? within the Windows Web Servers forums, part of the Web Server and Related Forums category; i just found that this site http://www.broken-ice.com/hack_site/lessons/ has a link to a webpage on ...
|
|||||||
| FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|||
|
i just found that this site http://www.broken-ice.com/hack_site/lessons/
has a link to a webpage on my site ( http://mysite/_vti_pvt/ ) (go to the bottom of first webpage and you will see a list of website addresses all ending with with _vti_pvt/ and my site is one of them. the problem is i don't understand why it is there (the site is in arabic !). i am guessing from the website adress that it has something to do with hacking (and i also figured out it has something to do with frontpage) actually, the page in question belongs to my team mate but the webserver is running on my computer. i am running Apache/2.0.52 (Win32) Server on Win XP Pro SP2 according to the control panel, i have both Microsoft Professional Edition 2003 as well as Microsoft XP Professional with FrontPage installed (i just found that out !) i have been using office 2003 though for the last one year. and i had just assumed that office 2003 installed OVER the previous install of office XP. is my system vulnerable becuase of this page ? if so, what should i do to protect it? if this is not the right newsgroup, pls let me know where i should go with this question. appreciate any help... thank you, julian. |