Re: smtpd_helo_access

This is a discussion on Re: smtpd_helo_access within the mailing.postfix.users forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; s=F8n, 29.05.2005 kl. 01.23 skrev mouss: > > i faced a severe problem with one of ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > mailing.postfix.users

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2005
Tony Earnshaw
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: smtpd_helo_access

s=F8n, 29.05.2005 kl. 01.23 skrev mouss:

> > i faced a severe problem with one of the system at
> > remote site tries to send a mail to my smtp server.
> > but it get rejected saying need fully qualified
> > hostname.

>=20
> what is the result of the `hostname` command on your system. if it's=20
> something like "foo.example.com", then it's ok. if it's just "foo", the=

n=20
> it's not and you need to econfigure your system.


I think he's saying that it's the remote host that gets refused. In
which case running hostname on his own machine wouldn't help.

> > Here i want to whitelist or allow the request and
> > should receive the mail.
> >=20
> > Can it possible to allow based on ipaddress if yes
> > please let me know and also the format in which
> > ipaddress has to specify.
> >=20

>=20
> of course it is possible. what is not possible is to guess what you=20
> want. please do reread the "welcome" message of the mailing list.
>=20
> Allowing someone based on his client addresse is as simple as:
>=20
> smtpd_recipient_restrictions =3D
> ...
> check_client_access hash:$path/googclients
> ...
>=20
> and in goodclients put
> ip permit
>=20
> if that doesn't work for you, then you clearly have other problems.
>=20
> > i tries giving the ipaddress and format like
> >=20
> > 1.2.3.4 dunno

>=20
> believe it or not, but
> smtpd_recipient_restrictions =3D
> reject
> check_recipient_access hash:foo
>=20
> will reject everybody, whatever you put in foo. access rules are=20
> executed one after the other, so check if some rule isn't causing you a=

=20
> problem.
>=20
> >=20
> > But it fails even i tried to whitelist or allow with
> > his hostname which appears in reject mail.

>=20
> do never say "it fails", "it doens't work", .... tell us what exactly=20
> doesn't work. for that, provide
> - your config (postconf -n)
> - your logs.
> - and if it's an entry in a map, give the map


The rest is perfectly valid :)

--Tonni

--=20
mail: tonye@billy.demon.nl
http://www.billy.demon.nl

Eg er bergenser og, eg, men, Trondheims-ordf=F8rer Marvin Wiseth:
=ABBergenserne er flinke til =E5 gj=F8re mye ut av lite=BB (uttalte seg o=
ver 17.
mai feiringen i=E5r, men gjelder sannsynligvis og dette mel mitt).

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0