This is a discussion on Re: smtpd_helo_access within the mailing.postfix.users forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; suneel cumar wrote: > Hi, > > i faced a severe problem with one of the system at > remote ...
|
|||||||
| FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|||
|
suneel cumar wrote:
> Hi, > > i faced a severe problem with one of the system at > remote site tries to send a mail to my smtp server. > but it get rejected saying need fully qualified > hostname. what is the result of the `hostname` command on your system. if it's something like "foo.example.com", then it's ok. if it's just "foo", then it's not and you need to econfigure your system. > > Here i want to whitelist or allow the request and > should receive the mail. > > Can it possible to allow based on ipaddress if yes > please let me know and also the format in which > ipaddress has to specify. > of course it is possible. what is not possible is to guess what you want. please do reread the "welcome" message of the mailing list. Allowing someone based on his client addresse is as simple as: smtpd_recipient_restrictions = ... check_client_access hash:$path/googclients ... and in goodclients put ip permit if that doesn't work for you, then you clearly have other problems. > i tries giving the ipaddress and format like > > 1.2.3.4 dunno believe it or not, but smtpd_recipient_restrictions = reject check_recipient_access hash:foo will reject everybody, whatever you put in foo. access rules are executed one after the other, so check if some rule isn't causing you a problem. > > But it fails even i tried to whitelist or allow with > his hostname which appears in reject mail. do never say "it fails", "it doens't work", .... tell us what exactly doesn't work. for that, provide - your config (postconf -n) - your logs. - and if it's an entry in a map, give the map |