Sender whitelist seems to not be working

This is a discussion on Sender whitelist seems to not be working within the mailing.postfix.users forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; This is a multipart message in MIME format. --=_alternative 0066B9ED8825700B_= Content-Type: text/plain; charset="US-ASCII" Hi, ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > mailing.postfix.users

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2005
Julian_Tang@learningtree.com
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sender whitelist seems to not be working

This is a multipart message in MIME format.
--=_alternative 0066B9ED8825700B_=
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="US-ASCII"

Hi,

I'm having an issue with my sender_whiltelist restriction. I've white
listed a domain, but for some reason it keeps getting rejected by an RBL.
I need to accept all messages (legitimate or not) from wanadoo.fr domain.
I believe I have everything in the right order, but I can't figure out why
it is still rejecting the domain. If I am understanding my configuration
correctly, when the messages gets to the sender_whitelist check, if it is
permitted in the sender_whitelist file, shouldn't it stop checking the
rest of the smtp_recipient_restrictions and pass the message through? If
you need more information please let me know.

I'm using postfix 2.1.5 running on RHES3

Here are some entries from my maillog:

May 24 10:41:33 mail1 postfix/smtpd[17613]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from
abordeaux-253-1-75-24.w83-200.abo.wanadoo.fr[83.200.210.24]: 554 Service
unavailable; Client host [83.200.210.24] blocked using
sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org; http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=83.200.210.24;
from=<Els_5748@kemperusa.com> to=<davance@learningtree.com> proto=SMTP
helo=<kemperusa.com>

May 24 11:19:17 mail1 postfix/smtpd[17947]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from
acaen-251-1-17-250.w83-115.abo.wanadoo.fr[83.115.79.250]: 554 Service
unavailable; Client host [83.115.79.250] blocked using dnsbl.sorbs.net;
Dynamic IP Addresses See:
http://www.dnsbl.sorbs.net/lookup.shtml?83.115.79.250;
from=<SchDelbert@kamco.com> to=<furnier@learningtree.com> proto=SMTP
helo=<kamco.com>

Part of my main.cf:

smtpd_recipient_restrictions =
reject_invalid_hostname,
reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
reject_unknown_sender_domain,
check_sender_mx_access hash:/etc/postfix/mx_access,
check_recipient_mx_access hash:/etc/postfix/mx_access,
permit_mynetworks,
reject_unauth_destination,
check_helo_access hash:/etc/postfix/helo_checks,
check_sender_access hash:/etc/postfix/sender_whitelist,
check_client_access hash:/etc/postfix/client_checks,
reject_rbl_client sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org,
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
reject_rbl_client dnsbl.sorbs.net,
reject_rbl_client list.dsbl.org,
reject_rbl_client opm.blitzed.org,
reject_rbl_client relays.ordb.org,
reject_rhsbl_client rhsbl.sorbs.net,
check_sender_access hash:/etc/postfix/access,
permit

smtpd_data_restrictions=
reject_unauth_pipelining,
permit

Here is part of my sender_whitelist file:

wanadoo.fr OK
belgacom.be OK
lineone.net OK
service.request@workspeed.net OK

Thanks for the help!
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Regards,
Julian Tang
Network Project Specialist
Learning Tree International
Direct Line: 310.342.2069
julian_tang@learningtree.com
Fax: 310.645.4762


--=_alternative 0066B9ED8825700B_=
Content-Type: text/html; charset="US-ASCII"


<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">Hi,</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">I'm having an issue with my sender_whiltelist
restriction. I've white listed a domain, but for some reason it keeps getting
rejected by an RBL. I need to accept all messages (legitimate or not) from
wanadoo.fr domain. &nbsp;I believe I have everything in the right order,
but I can't figure out why it is still rejecting the domain. &nbsp;If I
am understanding my configuration correctly, when the messages gets to
the sender_whitelist check, if it is permitted in the sender_whitelist
file, shouldn't it stop checking the rest of the smtp_recipient_restrictions
and pass the message through? If you need more information please &nbsp;let
me know.</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">I'm using postfix 2.1.5 running on RHES3</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">Here are some entries from my maillog:</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">May 24 10:41:33 mail1 postfix/smtpd[17613]:
NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from abordeaux-253-1-75-24.w83-200.abo.wanadoo.fr[83.200.210.24]:
554 Service unavailable; Client host [83.200.210.24] blocked using sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org;
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=83.200.210.24; from=&lt;Els_5748@kemperusa.com&gt;
to=&lt;davance@learningtree.com&gt; proto=SMTP helo=&lt;kemperusa.com&gt;</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">May 24 11:19:17 mail1 postfix/smtpd[17947]:
NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from acaen-251-1-17-250.w83-115.abo.wanadoo.fr[83.115.79.250]:
554 Service unavailable; Client host [83.115.79.250] blocked using dnsbl.sorbs.net;
Dynamic IP Addresses See: http://www.dnsbl.sorbs.net/lookup.shtml?83.115.79.250;
from=&lt;SchDelbert@kamco.com&gt; to=&lt;furnier@learningtree.com&gt; proto=SMTP
helo=&lt;kamco.com&gt;</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">Part of my main.cf: </font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">smtpd_recipient_restrictions = </font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_invalid_hostname,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_non_fqdn_recipient,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_unknown_sender_domain,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; check_sender_mx_access
hash:/etc/postfix/mx_access,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; check_recipient_mx_access
hash:/etc/postfix/mx_access,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; permit_mynetworks,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_unauth_destination,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; check_helo_access
&nbsp; hash:/etc/postfix/helo_checks,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; check_sender_access
hash:/etc/postfix/sender_whitelist,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; check_client_access
hash:/etc/postfix/client_checks,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_rbl_client
sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_rbl_client
cbl.abuseat.org,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_rbl_client
dnsbl.sorbs.net,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_rbl_client
list.dsbl.org, </font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_rbl_client
opm.blitzed.org,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_rbl_client
relays.ordb.org,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_rhsbl_client
rhsbl.sorbs.net,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; check_sender_access
hash:/etc/postfix/access,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; permit</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">smtpd_data_restrictions=</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; reject_unauth_pipelining,</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; permit<br>
</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">Here is part of my sender_whitelist
file:</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">wanadoo.fr &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;
&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;OK</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">belgacom.be &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;
&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; OK</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">lineone.net &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;
&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; OK</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">service.request@workspeed.net &nbsp;
OK</font>
<br>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">Thanks for the help!</font>
<br><font size=2 face="sans-serif">-----------------------------------------------------------------<br>
Regards,<br>
Julian Tang<br>
Network Project Specialist<br>
Learning Tree International<br>
Direct Line: 310.342.2069<br>
julian_tang@learningtree.com<br>
Fax: 310.645.4762<br>
<br>
</font>
--=_alternative 0066B9ED8825700B_=--
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0