Bluehost.com Web Hosting $6.95

Re: exempting a host from tarpit controls?

This is a discussion on Re: exempting a host from tarpit controls? within the mailing.postfix.users forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; [top-posting fixed!] On Friday 08 October 2004 02:37, Taner Halicioglu wrote: > things like > > smtpd_error_sleep_time > ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > mailing.postfix.users

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2004
/dev/rob0
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: exempting a host from tarpit controls?

[top-posting fixed!]
On Friday 08 October 2004 02:37, Taner Halicioglu wrote:
> things like
>
> smtpd_error_sleep_time
> smtpd_soft_error_limit
> smtpd_hard_error_limit
>
> I want to set these - but I want my backup MX server to be exempt to


I read those in postconf(5), and I'm puzzled as to why your backup MX
would be exceeding the smtpd_soft_error_limit in the first place? A
decent MTA should not be making protocol errors at all, much less doing
so over and above the smtpd_soft_error_limit.

Again, I think you're looking at the wrong problem:

> > 1. In most cases backup MX is a bad idea. To do it right you have
> > to maintain relay_recipient_maps on the backup MX. If it accepts


> relay_recipient_maps is probably a good solution, but I'm trying to
> have as few things to remember to edit when adding accounts (or


Indeed, your relay_recipient_maps on the backup MX would need to be
maintained along with your regular userbase maintenance routine.[1]
OTOH with *no* backup MX, there's nothing extra to maintain. Postfix
rejects mail for unknown local recipients right out of the box[2].
SIMPLIFY things, and they work better! What a deal!


[1] The existence of relay_recipient_maps on the backup MX presumes
postfix running there, in which case I wouldn't expect the primary
MX to notice any protocol errors.
[2] Out of WHAT box? My postfix didn't come in a box. Should I
complain?
--
mail to this address is discarded unless "/dev/rob0"
or "not-spam" is in Subject: header
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0