Bluehost.com Web Hosting $6.95

Re: mail spoofer

This is a discussion on Re: mail spoofer within the mailing.postfix.users forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; > > hey how is this possible? > >Very easily. > >> this email header was sent by ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > mailing.postfix.users

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2004
Cameron Knowlton
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: mail spoofer

> > hey how is this possible?
>
>Very easily.
>
>> this email header was sent by someone and NOT me. the ip address
>> (206.172.34.2) is not mine although the domain is mine. moreover, i do not
>> have a mesedilla.com mail server. but i do have a mail.overturemedia.com
>> postfix mail server. is it just as simple as putting the domain on your
>> mail server and it will work?
>>
>> i believe this is from a new virus spreading around. it has an attachment
>> and says something like "The message contains Unicode characters and has
>> been sent as a binary attachment."
>>

>It is the newest worm that targets sco.com.
>
>> i currently have a stalker and could it be he/she is doing this? can this
>> be meant or is this another virus getting my email address and domain.
>>

>
>Just the virus-of-the-day/hour/whatever.
>


thanks for the heads up, I got a bounce to this effect from Bacardi.com, supposedly coming from me. kind of embarrassing, as they're a client.

--
thanks 8^)

Cameron Knowlton
cameronk@igods.com
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0