RE: mail spoofer

This is a discussion on RE: mail spoofer within the mailing.postfix.users forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; > Just the virus-of-the-day/hour/whatever. Whew! Thanks for that. Cheers, fritz <www.mesedilla.com> --- + ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > mailing.postfix.users

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2004
Fritz Mesedilla
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: mail spoofer


> Just the virus-of-the-day/hour/whatever.


Whew! Thanks for that.


Cheers,

fritz <www.mesedilla.com>
---
+ Basta Ikaw Lord




-----Original Message-----
From: Robin Lynn Frank [mailto:rlfrank@paradigm-omega.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 27, 2004 12:46 PM
To: postfix-users@postfix.org
Subject: Re: mail spoofer


On Monday 26 January 2004 19:49, Fritz Mesedilla wrote:
> Return-Path: <fritz@mesedilla.com>
> Received: (qmail 30590 invoked from network); 27 Jan 2004 00:37:25 =

-0000
> Received: from unknown (HELO mesedilla.com) (206.172.34.2)
> by mrelay1-2.free.fr with SMTP; 27 Jan 2004 00:37:25 -0000
> From: fritz@mesedilla.com
> To: smith@free.fr
> Subject:
> Date: Mon, 26 Jan 2004 19:34:55 -0500
>
>
> hey how is this possible?


Very easily.

> this email header was sent by someone and NOT me. the ip address
> (206.172.34.2) is not mine although the domain is mine. moreover, i do =

not
> have a mesedilla.com mail server. but i do have a =

mail.overturemedia.com
> postfix mail server. is it just as simple as putting the domain on =

your
> mail server and it will work?
>
> i believe this is from a new virus spreading around. it has an =

attachment
> and says something like "The message contains Unicode characters and =

has
> been sent as a binary attachment."
>

It is the newest worm that targets sco.com.

> i currently have a stalker and could it be he/she is doing this? can =

this
> be meant or is this another virus getting my email address and domain.
>


Just the virus-of-the-day/hour/whatever.

--=20
Robin Lynn Frank | Director of Operations | Paradigm-Omega, LLC
Cry havoc, and let slip the dogs of war!
Email acceptance policy: http://paradigm-omega.com/email_policy.php




----------------------------------------------------------------------
This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and
intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they
are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify
the sender immediately by e-mail and delete this e-mail from your
system. Please note that any views or opinions presented in this
email are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent
those of the company. Finally, the recipient should check this email
and any attachments for the presence of viruses. The company accepts
no liability for any damage caused by any virus transmitted by this
email.=20

Overture Media, Inc.
Direct Line: (632) 635-4785
Trunkline: (632) 631-8971 Local 146
Fax: (632) 637-2206
Level 1 Summit Media Offices, Robinsons Galleria EDSA Cor. Ortigas Ave., =
Quezon City 1100

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0