mail headers question

This is a discussion on mail headers question within the Linux Security forums, part of the System Security and Security Related category; Here's a sample spam headers that I received today. There are three domain addresses here: counsellor.com, fia74-110....


Go Back   Usenet Forums > System Security and Security Related > Linux Security

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2004
al
 
Posts: n/a
Default mail headers question

Here's a sample spam headers that I received today.
There are three domain addresses here:
counsellor.com, fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl and iwexx.japan.com
My question is, which address do I need to block so that I don't receive
spam from this source again.

Return-Path: <tfzqzxa@counsellor.com>
Received: from fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl (fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl
[62.251.110.74])
by mydomain.com (8.12.8/8.12.8) with SMTP id i3KD8X56523724
for <al@mydomain.com>; Tue, 20 Apr 2004 06:08:35 -0700
Received: from iwexx.japan.com [72.224.120.76] by 62.251.110.74 with wbttrf

thanks,
al


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2004
Doug McIntyre
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: mail headers question

"al" <al@somplace.com> writes:
>Here's a sample spam headers that I received today.
>There are three domain addresses here:
>counsellor.com, fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl and iwexx.japan.com
>My question is, which address do I need to block so that I don't receive
>spam from this source again.


>Return-Path: <tfzqzxa@counsellor.com>
>Received: from fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl (fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl
>[62.251.110.74])
> by mydomain.com (8.12.8/8.12.8) with SMTP id i3KD8X56523724
> for <al@mydomain.com>; Tue, 20 Apr 2004 06:08:35 -0700
>Received: from iwexx.japan.com [72.224.120.76] by 62.251.110.74 with wbttrf



All you can be 100% positive here (because all other info can be
forged and is useless) is that you received this SPAM from the IP
address 65.251.110.74.

In this particular case, it does appear that this really does map to
fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl, but this certainly doesn't require to be the
case, reverse DNS lookups might be wrong, the first instance is what
the SMTP sending reported its name as, which is 100% arbitrary.

The 2nd Recevied: line might be accurate, it might just be something
thrown in there to throw you off the scent, so its totally unreliable
to do any blocking based on that.

Most likely, this is some compromised host on a DSL line in the
Netherlands, and they'll soon or already have discover that their
machine was hacked (with worm/virus/spyware/whatever) and take steps
to clean it, so even blocking this machine might just add an entry to
your filter that never gets used again, especially since this happened
two and a half days ago.

The SPAMers most likely have just moved onto another compromised host
somewhere else, and are spewing their junk from there instead.


--
Doug McIntyre merlyn@visi.com
Network Engineer/Jack of All Trades
Vector Internet Services, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2004
James Riden
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: mail headers question

"al" <al@somplace.com> writes:

> Here's a sample spam headers that I received today.
> There are three domain addresses here:
> counsellor.com, fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl and iwexx.japan.com
> My question is, which address do I need to block so that I don't receive
> spam from this source again.
>
> Return-Path: <tfzqzxa@counsellor.com>
> Received: from fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl (fia74-110.dsl.hccnet.nl
> [62.251.110.74])
> by mydomain.com (8.12.8/8.12.8) with SMTP id i3KD8X56523724
> for <al@mydomain.com>; Tue, 20 Apr 2004 06:08:35 -0700
> Received: from iwexx.japan.com [72.224.120.76] by 62.251.110.74 with wbttrf


62.251.110.74 looks like a trojaned box or an exploited proxy.

http://cbl.abuseat.org/lookup.cgi?ip....submit=Lookup

We're looking up against the CBL (or rather xbl.spamhaus.org, but same
thing pretty much) and it's catching a lot of spam from compromised
home machines.

(I honestly can't think of a good place to set follow-ups to. nanae
tends to be more heat than light sometimes.)

cheers,
Jamie
--
James Riden / j.riden@massey.ac.nz / Systems Security Engineer
Information Technology Services, Massey University, NZ.
GPG public key available at: http://www.massey.ac.nz/~jriden/
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0