If SpamAssassin was PeopleAssassin

This is a discussion on If SpamAssassin was PeopleAssassin within the Linux Networking forums, part of the Linux Forums category; A regular assassin: Ah! There's my target. They are about to enter the main room of my house. Bang! ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Linux Forums > Linux Networking

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003
Alan Connor
 
Posts: n/a
Default If SpamAssassin was PeopleAssassin



A regular assassin:

Ah! There's my target.
They are about to enter the main room of my house.
Bang! They are DEAD.


Now, SpamAssassin takes human form:

Ah! There's my target.
They are about to enter the main room of my house.
I will send them to a different, but otherwise identical, room.


For the life of me, I cannot think of a program less aptly named.

How about: "SpamShuffler" ?

But since it doesn't shullfle all the spam, and shuffles mail that isn't spam,

perhaps:


"IncompetentSpamShuffler"


Would be a good choice of names......


Alan C


--

take control of your mailbox ----- elrav1 ----- http://tinyurl.com/l55a
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003
David Precious
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If SpamAssassin was PeopleAssassin

Alan Connor wrote:

> For the life of me, I cannot think of a program less aptly named.
>
> How about: "SpamShuffler" ?
>
> But since it doesn't shullfle all the spam, and shuffles mail that isn't
> spam,
>
> perhaps:
>
> "IncompetentSpamShuffler"
>
> Would be a good choice of names......



You don't like SpamAssassin? I've found it to be *excellent* at cutting
down the spam I receive - I generally receive around 100 spam emails per
day, but SpamAssassin ensures I very rarely get to see any of them.

I have all mails which are tagged as spam saved to a file on my server
instead of put in my mailbox, and I check that file every now and then to
make sure it's not incorrectly tagging anything. I've set it up also so
that any mail with a high enough spam score gets reported to Razor etc.

It certainly "assassinates" my spam! (although, unfortunately, not the
spammers themselves :-( )

Cheers

Dave P


--
David Precious
http://www.preshweb.co.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2003
Peter Jones
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If SpamAssassin was PeopleAssassin

Dave Carrigan <dave@rudedog.org> wrote in
news:8765khybkg.fsf@cbgb.rudedog.org:

> Alan Connor <xxxxxx@xxxx.xxx> writes:
>
> ... a bunch of trollish crap ...
>
> Please do not respond to this person, he is a troll who wants to
> expound on the benefits of his challenge-response mail system. Check
> the debian-user archives for past trolls.


I suspect you are correct and that Alan is indeed a troll. I also
suspect that he sends out viruses (and probably spam) to people who rub
him up the wrong way.

I know for a fact that his C/R system does not work as advertised,
because an email I sent to him just disappeared; it certainly didn't
generate a "Challenge" that came back to me.

Maybe Alan really does believe everything he is saying. Maybe Alan
really is blissfully unaware of all the valid email contacts which never
get past his foolproof system. It does tend to prove what others have
said: that the only foolproof spam blocker is one that blocks *all*
email...

*shrug*

Pete.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2003
Alan Connor
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If SpamAssassin was PeopleAssassin

On 30 Aug 2003 01:45:33 GMT, Peter Jones <jonespr@optushome.com.au> wrote:
>
>
> Dave Carrigan <dave@rudedog.org> wrote in
> news:8765khybkg.fsf@cbgb.rudedog.org:
>
>> Alan Connor <xxxxxx@xxxx.xxx> writes:
>>
>> ... a bunch of trollish crap ...
>>
>> Please do not respond to this person, he is a troll who wants to
>> expound on the benefits of his challenge-response mail system. Check
>> the debian-user archives for past trolls.

>
> I suspect you are correct and that Alan is indeed a troll. I also
> suspect that he sends out viruses (and probably spam) to people who rub
> him up the wrong way.
>
> I know for a fact that his C/R system does not work as advertised,
> because an email I sent to him just disappeared; it certainly didn't
> generate a "Challenge" that came back to me.
>
> Maybe Alan really does believe everything he is saying. Maybe Alan
> really is blissfully unaware of all the valid email contacts which never
> get past his foolproof system. It does tend to prove what others have
> said: that the only foolproof spam blocker is one that blocks *all*
> email...
>
> *shrug*
>
> Pete.



And I am pretty sure that YOU are a spammer or a proffessional spam fighter.


And a REAL asshole, but then, spammers usually are, aren't they?


You are plainly frightened to death of my program, which does kill ALL spam.


Without muss or fuss.



I am now adding you, and all the headers from every post I can find, to
my potential spammers list, which I send to the spam cop sections of every
major ISP, once a week. No, not the abuse address, an inside one.


and I am also saving copies of your libelous posts, and you are indeed a
fool to make them in the first place.


Maybe you ought to look into the number of successful libel suits that
have used Usenet posts as their primary evidence.


And the fact that you are NOT afraid of them leads me to think that the
address and name you are using are both aliases.



Christ but you are a punk.


Alan C



--

take control of your mailbox ----- elrav1 ----- http://tinyurl.com/l55a
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2003
Johann Koenig
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If SpamAssassin was PeopleAssassin

On Sat, 30 Aug 2003 03:17:16 GMT
Alan Connor <xxxxxx@xxxx.xxx> wrote:

> And the fact that you are NOT afraid of them leads me to think that
> the address and name you are using are both aliases.


Interesting that Alan brings this up. It seems he is known by more than
a few "aliases" in different newsgroups. See this[1] post in
linux.debian.user

A quick search of dejanews.com for "Alan Connor" "Bruce Burhans" or
"Farley Benn" should make some interesting reading. :)

Now, before Mr. Connor (or Burhans/Benn) should say I am using an alias,
feel free to get my pgp key from my .sig and run the domian through a
whois. You'll notice that not only does the the key verify cleanly, but
it can be assumed that (from the whois) I am the one who owns the
domain. Therefore, it can be assumed that it is *my* key.

[1]
http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=e...ted-at.bofh.it
--
-johann koenig
Now Playing: Buzzov~en - Plow : Punk Uprisings (Vol. 2)
Today is Boomtime, the 23rd day of Bureaucracy in the YOLD 3169
My public pgp key: http://mental-graffiti.com/pgp/johannkoenig.pgp

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.3 (GNU/Linux)

iD8DBQE/ULL7Fk4duwOzQpURAtpMAJ4kre0B4amD0fmGGnV95HPdXo7z2Q CfVejC
ptRlN4SEDP2KYUFPwTwvZ7o=
=Gm5i
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0