Bluehost.com Web Hosting $6.95

Re: [courier-users] Re: how to configure SPF records?

This is a discussion on Re: [courier-users] Re: how to configure SPF records? within the Courier-Imap forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; [snip] > Ok, this user is using my courier as a relay (authenticated smtp), however > 64.80.255.252 ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > Courier-Imap

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2005
Michael Nguyen
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: [courier-users] Re: how to configure SPF records?

[snip]

> Ok, this user is using my courier as a relay (authenticated smtp), however
> 64.80.255.252 is NOT my server's IP. My server's IP (the relay being used)


This was merely a guess. I saw the IP in the email and assumed it was some
sort of tracking.

> is 38.118.152.246. I'm guessing that perhaps that is the IP of his email
> client? But if so, it doesn't make sense because shouldn't the IP be the

one
> of the email server that is relaying the message?


Yes, SPF will check against the IP of the mail server.

[snip]

> My main domain is indeed americasnet.com... however that is not the domain
> that the user is providing when utilizing the relay. Which domain would I
> need to add to spf.pobox.com ?


The user's domain is the one that need's an SPF record. Basically, SPF
records say this:

- Any legitimate mail that comes from me will only come from the following
IP addresses

So, if your friend has say, a gmail.com address and tries to send through
your server, he'll be rejected if the recipient server has a strict SPF
filter.

gmail.com. 78 IN TXT "v=spf1 a:mproxy.gmail.com
a:rproxy.gmail.com a:wproxy.gmail.com a:zproxy.gmail.com a:nproxy.gmail.com
?all"

gmail.com says that real gmail email comes from the above servers, none of
which are 38.112.152.246 etc.

[snip]

> I guess a better question is, what exactly is the error? Is it the
> destination server (joimail.com) rejecting the message because of some
> misconfiguration on my server?


The answer is exactly as I described before. The destination server
(joimail.com) is rejecting the message because the sender of the mail is
failing SPF checks. What's the domain of the user in question? Perhaps
it'll be easier to show you once you give that information.


Michael



-------------------------------------------------------
SF.Net email is sponsored by: Tell us your software development plans!
Take this survey and enter to win a one-year sub to SourceForge.net
Plus IDC's 2005 look-ahead and a copy of this survey
Click here to start! http://www.idcswdc.com/cgi-bin/survey?id=105hix
_______________________________________________
courier-users mailing list
courier-users@lists.sourceforge.net
Unsubscribe: https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/.../courier-users
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0