Re: [AMaViS-user] Whitelisting monster.com ?

This is a discussion on Re: [AMaViS-user] Whitelisting monster.com ? within the Amavis User forums, part of the Anti-Spam and Anti-Virus Related Forums category; On 8/9/07, Leone, Michael <MLeone@contributionship.com> wrote: > -> > -> Try dropping the period: &...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Anti-Spam and Anti-Virus Related Forums > Amavis User

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2007
Gary V
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: [AMaViS-user] Whitelisting monster.com ?

On 8/9/07, Leone, Michael <MLeone@contributionship.com> wrote:
> ->
> -> Try dropping the period:
> -> whitelist_from_rcvd *@monster.com monster.com
>
> I will try that, thanks


After seeing the headers, this won't work.

>
> ->
> -> AFAIK this will only look at the first 'untrusted' relay, so your
> -> internal_networks must be correct.
> ->
> -> However, if the:
> -> Envelope-Sender: or Resent-Sender: or X-Envelope-From: or From:
> -> is not @monster.com, then this may not work.
>
> Here's a sample header:
> (X-Envelope-Header changed to hide real sender's email address)
>
> Microsoft Mail Internet Headers Version 2.0
> X-Envelope-From: <xxxx@xxxx.xxx>
> X-Envelope-To: <careers@contributionship.com>
> X-Quarantine-ID: <EVot6gS6N0ku>
> X-Spam-Flag: YES
> X-Spam-Score: 6.361
> X-Spam-Level: ******
> X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=6.361 tag=-999 tag2=3.9 kill=3.9
> tests=[BAYES_99=2.5, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001,
> HTML_TEXT_AFTER_BODY=0.115,
> HTML_TITLE_EMPTY=0.214, MIME_HTML_ONLY=0.001,
> NO_REAL_NAME=0.961,
> SARE_HTML_HTML_BEFORE=0.718, SARE_HTML_INV_TAG3=1.365,
> SARE_HTML_URI_NODOT2=0.296, SUBJ_HAS_UNIQ_ID=0.19]
> Received: from cliff-claven.contributionship.com ([127.0.0.1])
> by localhost (cliff-clavin.contributionship.com [127.0.0.1])
> (amavisd-new, port 10024)
> with SMTP id EVot6gS6N0ku for <careers@contributionship.com>;
> Wed, 8 Aug 2007 21:49:29 -0400 (EDT)
> Received: from mailman102-q0.ma.tmpw.net (mailman102-q0.ma.tmpw.net
> [63.112.170.13])
> by cliff-claven.contributionship.com (Postfix) with SMTP id
> B8E071B0ED
> for <careers@contributionship.com>; Wed, 8 Aug 2007 21:49:28
> -0400 (EDT)


It's tmpw.net that is monster's server - and it's likely the first
untrusted server - hence it would go on the right hand side of
whitelist_from_rcvd but since the mail is not from @monster.com, this
still would not work.

> Received: (qmail 23817 invoked from network); 9 Aug 2007 01:49:32 -0000
> Received: from batch102.monster.com (HELO BATCH102) (10.50.10.187)
> by mailman102-q0.ma.tmpw.net with SMTP; 9 Aug 2007 01:49:32 -0000
> Received: from mail pickup service by BATCH102 with Microsoft SMTPSVC;
> Wed, 8 Aug 2007 20:49:32 -0500
> thread-index: AcfaJ4eozthVJw3DQPezrQephqSy0Q==
> Thread-Topic: 60932078 Corporate Controller Monster Resume #128062077
> Reply-To: <xxxx@xxxx.xxx>
> From: <xxxx@xxxx.xxx>
> To: <careers@contributionship.com>
> Subject: 60932078 Corporate Controller Monster Resume #128062077
> Date: Wed, 8 Aug 2007 20:49:31 -0500
> Message-ID: <006801c7da27$87aab5c0$bb0a320a@ops.global.ad>
> MIME-Version: 1.0
> Content-Type: text/html;
> charset="iso-8859-1"
> X-Mailer: Microsoft CDO for Windows 2000
> Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
> Importance: normal
> Priority: normal
> X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.2929
> X-OriginalArrivalTime: 09 Aug 2007 01:49:32.0007 (UTC)
> FILETIME=[87C9AF70:01C7DA27]
> Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
> Return-Path: xxxx@xxxx.xxx
>
> So the only place Monster is mentioned is in one Received: line (and in
> the subject).
>


I don't think whitelist_from_rcvd will work.

> ->
> -> You could probably create (in postfix) a regex (or cidr)
> -> client access
> -> map that sets the FILTER to a different port that has a policy bank
> -> with a higher kill_level (and tag2_level).
>
> OK ... Bit advanced for me, but I will consider it ...
>
> ->
> -> # change this from the original setting
> -> $inet_socket_port = [10024, 10026];
> ->
> -> # add these
> -> $interface_policy{'10026'} = 'MONSTER';
> ->
> -> $policy_bank{'MONSTER'} = {
> -> spam_kill_level_maps => [15.0],
> -> spam_tag2_level_maps => [15.0],
> -> };
>
> That's in postfix? How does postfix know about spam_kill_level_maps? I'm
> confused ...
>


Sorry, the policy bank part would be in amavisd.conf.

> ->
> -> smtpd_client_restrictions =
> -> check_client_access cidr:/etc/postfix/monster_cidr
> ->
> -> /etc/postfix/monster_cidr:
> -> 63.121.29.0/24 FILTER smtp-amavis:[127.0.0.1]:10026
>
> Wasn't aware that that was monster's IP range. :-)


It was only an example. Don't use it verbatim. You would have to grep
your logs for all the addresses. Maybe use the monster_regexp instead.

>
> ->
> -> or
> -> check_client_access regexp:/etc/postfix/monster_regexp
> ->
> -> with the rDNS hostname(s) in regex form in monster_regexp
>
> .monster.com OK
>
> Like that? I am unsure of what all the hosts that would send mail are
> named (I see batch102.monster.com above, but who knows what all the
> hosts are named ...)
>
> Thanks
>


Probably more like (but I'm sure someone else could do better - make
it more specific):

/^.*\..*\.tmpw.net$/ FILTER smtp-amavis:[127.0.0.1]:10026

Note: I corrected regex: to regexp:

If 'postconf -m' shows 'pcre', then you may optionally substitute
pcre: for regexp:

--
Gary V

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
This SF.net email is sponsored by: Splunk Inc.
Still grepping through log files to find problems? Stop.
Now Search log events and configuration files using AJAX and a browser.
Download your FREE copy of Splunk now >> http://get.splunk.com/
_______________________________________________
AMaViS-user mailing list
AMaViS-user@lists.sourceforge.net
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/...fo/amavis-user
AMaViS-FAQ:http://www.amavis.org/amavis-faq.php3
AMaViS-HowTos:http://www.amavis.org/howto/
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0