Re: [AMaViS-user] Virus found for invalid recipients

This is a discussion on Re: [AMaViS-user] Virus found for invalid recipients within the Amavis User forums, part of the Anti-Spam and Anti-Virus Related Forums category; On Thu, 2007-07-19 at 23:08 -0700, MrC wrote: > Stephan Paukner wrote: > > Hi! > > &...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Anti-Spam and Anti-Virus Related Forums > Amavis User

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007
Stephan Paukner
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: [AMaViS-user] Virus found for invalid recipients

On Thu, 2007-07-19 at 23:08 -0700, MrC wrote:
> Stephan Paukner wrote:
> > Hi!
> >
> > I'm not sure whether something is wrong with my
> > Postfix(2.4.3)-amavisd-new(2.4.2) integration on Debian lenny. Since I
> > use the Sanesecurity databases to catch various sorts of spam, I notice
> > that viruses are quarantined that are addressed to some
> > randomuser@mail.mydoma.in although nothing is configured in Postfix for
> > the host 'mail', DNS simply points here.

>
> If I am understanding you correctly, your mydomain does not include
> mail.mydomain.in, but does contain mydomain.in, and you're wondering why
> mail for unlisted recipients is being accepted?
>
> If this is correct, this isn't an amavis issue, but a postfix
> configuration issue.


I see, thanks for figuring that out.


> You either have to list your valid recipients in your
> relay_recipient_maps, or unset relay_domains and remove the
> relay_domains and perhaps mynetworks from the
> parent_domain_matches_subdomains.
>
> main.cf:
>
> relay_domains =
> #parent_domain_matches_subdomains =
> debug_peer_list,fast_flush_domains,
> permit_mx_backup_networks,
> qmqpd_authorized_clients, smtpd_access_maps,
> mynetworks,relay_domains
>
> #parent_domain_matches_subdomains =
> debug_peer_list,fast_flush_domains,
> permit_mx_backup_networks,
> qmqpd_authorized_clients, smtpd_access_maps


I noticed I don't have any relay_recipient_maps or relay_domains
configured (small site), I had everything regarding mydomain in the
aliases, and the others in virtual_maps. I had it this way for years.
Thanks a lot for that hint.


> > How can I ensure that mail for invalid users is rejected although it
> > contains that PDF stuff?

>
> I don't understand "although it contains the PDF stuff"... ?


Sorry, forget that, I had the impression that these mails would get
rejected if they were not one of these current PDF spam mails. But now I
found clean messages to someone@mail.mydomain, yielding the error
message that "mail loops back to myself". So it's indeed Postfix only.


> > Here's how I integrated amavisd-new in Postfix:
> >
> > ### master.cf:
> > smtp-amavis unix - - n - 2 smtp
> > -o smtp_data_done_timeout=1200
> > -o disable_dns_lookups=yes
> >
> > 127.0.0.1:10025 inet n - n - - smtpd
> > -o content_filter=
> > -o local_recipient_maps=
> > -o relay_recipient_maps=
> > -o smtpd_restriction_classes=
> > -o smtpd_client_restrictions=
> > -o smtpd_helo_restrictions=
> > -o smtpd_sender_restrictions=
> > -o smtpd_recipient_restrictions=permit_mynetworks,rej ect
> > -o mynetworks=127.0.0.0/8
> > -o strict_rfc821_envelopes=yes
> > -o smtpd_error_sleep_time=0
> > -o smtpd_soft_error_limit=1001
> > -o smtpd_hard_error_limit=1000
> >
> > ### main.cf:
> > content_filter = smtp-amavis:[127.0.0.1]:10024
> >
> > Thanks!
> > Regards

>

--
Stephan Paukner <paux@paukner.cc>

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
This SF.net email is sponsored by: Microsoft
Defy all challenges. Microsoft(R) Visual Studio 2005.
http://clk.atdmt.com/MRT/go/vse0120000070mrt/direct/01/
_______________________________________________
AMaViS-user mailing list
AMaViS-user@lists.sourceforge.net
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/...fo/amavis-user
AMaViS-FAQ:http://www.amavis.org/amavis-faq.php3
AMaViS-HowTos:http://www.amavis.org/howto/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0