Re: [AMaViS-user] User complaints of spam

This is a discussion on Re: [AMaViS-user] User complaints of spam within the Amavis User forums, part of the Anti-Spam and Anti-Virus Related Forums category; Clifton Royston wrote: > On Tue, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:02:46AM -0400, Michael Scheidell wrote: > >>...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Anti-Spam and Anti-Virus Related Forums > Amavis User

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2005
Michael Scheidell
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: [AMaViS-user] User complaints of spam

Clifton Royston wrote:
> On Tue, Aug 16, 2005 at 08:02:46AM -0400, Michael Scheidell wrote:
>
>>Then, since all of my clients are businesses, they broke the law and
>>don't seem to care.
>>
>>In fact, since they 'blast spam', they have no idea who they are
>>spamming anyway.

>
>
> Do have a care to understand what's going on, before you assign blame
> too freely.
>


and DO UNDERSTAND I UNDERSTAND THAT UK.GEOCITIES.COM HAS NOT RESPONDED,
AND ISN'T DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT.


> UK Geocities, like Geocities in the US, is a free (ad-supported)
> personal webpage hosting site.
>
> If you look at the headers of these spams, you'll find that these
> mails aren't coming from UK Geocities. If you look at the sites of the
> actual URLs (which I'm not sure I'd recommend) you'll find that the
> ultimate websites they're in support of aren't hosted on UK Geocities
> either.
>
> The MO of at least one large spam gang now is to create "springboard"
> entry pages on free hosting sites; when you hit that URL, you get a
> page or two which ultimately redirect you to another host where the
> real site being spammed for is. One that I know of particularly
> targets Geocities, I assume because they've got some automated signup
> process. I've seen dozens of URLs and pages on Geocities in a spam
> run, all with the exact same content. They're wor
>
> If you could figure out a process for automatically forwarding these
> to the Geocities abuse department, one per URL, it would be a good
> thing; I've been able to manually forward some of these in the past and
> that has helped them close down some of the sites quickly. The contact
> I eventually reached at Yahoo (owner of Geocities) said they're working
> on a process for trying to detect these "springboards" and close them
> automatically before they can be spammed for, but haven't got one yet.
>
> The reason I say I'm not sure I'd recommend looking at the sites is
> that in the past this MO has been used mainly to support child porn and
> rape porn sites. Quite unpleasant content, and in many countries you
> might be skirting the law just by looking at the site to see what it
> is.
>
> -- Clifton
>




-------------------------------------------------------
SF.Net email is Sponsored by the Better Software Conference & EXPO
September 19-22, 2005 * San Francisco, CA * Development Lifecycle Practices
Agile & Plan-Driven Development * Managing Projects & Teams * Testing & QA
Security * Process Improvement & Measurement * http://www.sqe.com/bsce5sf
_______________________________________________
AMaViS-user mailing list
AMaViS-user@lists.sourceforge.net
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/...fo/amavis-user
AMaViS-FAQ:http://www.amavis.org/amavis-faq.php3
AMaViS-HowTos:http://www.amavis.org/howto/
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0