Anybody tell me what this error message means ??

This is a discussion on Anybody tell me what this error message means ?? within the alt.comp.mail.qmail forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; Sometimes I get this error message (see below) when I send mail to a valid address. Sometimes it works fine ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.qmail

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2006
steve
 
Posts: n/a
Default Anybody tell me what this error message means ??

Sometimes I get this error message (see below) when I send mail to a
valid address.

Sometimes it works fine then other times I get this message.

When I look at http://dsbl.org/listing?68.142.225.206
It seems to be saying that it has been black listed and is an open
relay. I'm not an mail guru. So I'm only guessing at what it is saying.


It just seems odd that the address (yahoo) is black listed and why it
works some times and not other times.

Can anyone provide any details on this ??

And if there is any resolution.

Thanks.

-----------HERE IS ERROR BOUCED BACK AFTER ABOUT A DAY
1/2-------------------
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<margo.s@domainchanged.com>:
66.235.203.123 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 451 http://dsbl.org/listing?68.142.225.206
Giving up on 66.235.203.123.
I'm not going to try again; this message has been in the queue too
long.

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
---------- etc ---------------------

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2006
AK
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Anybody tell me what this error message means ??

steve wrote:

> Sometimes I get this error message (see below) when I send mail to a
> valid address.
>
> Sometimes it works fine then other times I get this message.
>
> When I look at http://dsbl.org/listing?68.142.225.206
> It seems to be saying that it has been black listed and is an open
> relay. I'm not an mail guru. So I'm only guessing at what it is saying.
>
>
> It just seems odd that the address (yahoo) is black listed and why it
> works some times and not other times.
>
> Can anyone provide any details on this ??
>
> And if there is any resolution.
>
> Thanks.
>
> -----------HERE IS ERROR BOUCED BACK AFTER ABOUT A DAY
> 1/2-------------------
> Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
> I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
> addresses.
> This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
>
> <margo.s@domainchanged.com>:
> 66.235.203.123 does not like recipient.
> Remote host said: 451 http://dsbl.org/listing?68.142.225.206
> Giving up on 66.235.203.123.
> I'm not going to try again; this message has been in the queue too
> long.
>
> --- Below this line is a copy of the message.
> ---------- etc ---------------------
>


Is this mail server managed by you? If not, you need to refer this
matter to your provider, Yahoo. If you are managing this server, your
server is blacklisted by several lists
http://openrbl.org/client/#68.142.225.206.

What mail server are you using? Did you go through the steps to secure
it? try the following link: http://www.mail-abuse.com/an_sec3rdparty.html

AK
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2006
steve
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Anybody tell me what this error message means ??

Thank you for your response. No I do not manage this system. It's, I
assume, managed by Yahoo. I did send a message to my ISP Rogers Cable
which is one of the largest ISP's in Canada. They use Yahoo as a portal
for their mail. I'm hoping that they will contact their partner Yahoo
and resolve it.

What you are tell me (correct me if I'm wrong) is that this yahoo
machine has been black listed. To some degree this is what I wanted to
hear. eg that it is not something with me, and that I have done the
appropriate thing in sending the message and comment to my ISP who
works with Yahoo. Of course its frustrating that I can't get my mail
through, and seems a bit odd that Yahoo a "respected" company has an
open relay or some how has got themselves black listed. but anyway
there you go.

Regards

Thank you.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2006
steve
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Anybody tell me what this error message means ??

So here is the sad reply from my ISP.

Basically what they say is, you should email the target domain, which
happens to be THEIR parter Yahoo. And secondly use another email
service despite the fact that they are huge and I pay them a rediculous
amount of money.

I didnt really expect much else I suppose.

------
Thank you for using our email service.

We understand your concern with this delivery failure error and would
be
pleased to assist you.

This error indicates that the domain to which you were attempting to
send your message has blocked it, probably because of spam, which
causes
heavy traffic on the servers. This spam may be from either your
specific
Rogers email address, or all @rogers.com addresses sending mail into
that network. To communicate with this particular recipient, please
consider using a non-Rogers email address.

You may wish to institute regularly updated virus scans of your system
to ensure that no infection exists. This would eliminate the
possibility that your computer is the cause of any such issue. You also

may wish to contact the administrator at the target domain via a
non-Rogers email address to request more information.

There is little we can do to change the situation as the choice is that

of the administrator of the target domain. We apologize for any
inconvenience.

If you have any further questions or comments regarding our service,
please fill out the online form on our Customer Support page listed
below or contact us by phone at 1-888-288-4663.

Regards,
Mike H.
Rogers Yahoo! Hi-Speed Internet
Electronic Support Group

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0