Bluehost.com Web Hosting $6.95

qmail blacklist - where is it coming from?

This is a discussion on qmail blacklist - where is it coming from? within the alt.comp.mail.qmail forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; Help! My mail server is rejecting emails from one domain, but I don't know why. /var/log/maillog shows; ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.qmail

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2006
Zoopra.com
 
Posts: n/a
Default qmail blacklist - where is it coming from?

Help! My mail server is rejecting emails from one domain, but I don't
know why. /var/log/maillog shows;

Feb 2 16:35:24 mail qmail-smtpd[26693]: Realime Blacklist check failed
(******@malleedgp.com.au) -> (*****@******.org.au) [203.208.80.98] HELO
malleedgp.com.au)

The IP doesn't seem to be listed in any blacklists - why might qmail be
rejecting it?

P.S. I have inherited this server, so I'm not 100% sure what's on it...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2006
Dave Sill
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: qmail blacklist - where is it coming from?

"Zoopra.com" <noreply@zoopra.com> writes:

> Help! My mail server is rejecting emails from one domain, but I don't
> know why. /var/log/maillog shows;
>
> Feb 2 16:35:24 mail qmail-smtpd[26693]: Realime Blacklist check
> failed (******@malleedgp.com.au) -> (*****@******.org.au)
> [203.208.80.98] HELO malleedgp.com.au)
>
> The IP doesn't seem to be listed in any blacklists - why might qmail
> be rejecting it?
>
> P.S. I have inherited this server, so I'm not 100% sure what's on it...


Either the IP is listed on a blacklist, or your qmail is
misconfigured. Since neither of us knows how your system is
configured, it's anybody's guess which is the case.

--
Dave Sill Oak Ridge National Lab, Workstation Support
Author, The qmail Handbook <http://web.infoave.net/~dsill>
<http://lifewithqmail.org/>: Almost everything you always wanted to know.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2006
Zoopra.com
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: qmail blacklist - where is it coming from?

Dave Sill wrote:
> "Zoopra.com" <noreply@zoopra.com> writes:
>
>
>>Help! My mail server is rejecting emails from one domain, but I don't
>>know why. /var/log/maillog shows;
>>
>>Feb 2 16:35:24 mail qmail-smtpd[26693]: Realime Blacklist check
>>failed (******@malleedgp.com.au) -> (*****@******.org.au)
>>[203.208.80.98] HELO malleedgp.com.au)
>>
>>The IP doesn't seem to be listed in any blacklists - why might qmail
>>be rejecting it?
>>
>>P.S. I have inherited this server, so I'm not 100% sure what's on it...

>
>
> Either the IP is listed on a blacklist, or your qmail is
> misconfigured. Since neither of us knows how your system is
> configured, it's anybody's guess which is the case.
>


Where does qmail keeps its settings on whether (or how) to check a
blacklist? I can't find any...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2006
Dave Sill
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: qmail blacklist - where is it coming from?

"Zoopra.com" <noreply@zoopra.com> writes:

> Where does qmail keeps its settings on whether (or how) to check a
> blacklist? I can't find any...


qmail doesn't doo blacklists itself. qmail doesn't even do TCP
itself. In a typical qmail installation, TCP is implemented using the
ucspi-tcp package, and run via the daemontools package from the
/service directory. Blacklist checking--if enabled--is done by
rblsmtpd, e.g., in /service/qmail-smtpd/run.

But that's just a typical installation...

--
Dave Sill Oak Ridge National Lab, Workstation Support
Author, The qmail Handbook <http://web.infoave.net/~dsill>
<http://lifewithqmail.org/>: Almost everything you always wanted to know.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006
AK
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: qmail blacklist - where is it coming from?

Zoopra.com wrote:

> Dave Sill wrote:
>
>> "Zoopra.com" <noreply@zoopra.com> writes:
>>
>>
>>> Help! My mail server is rejecting emails from one domain, but I don't
>>> know why. /var/log/maillog shows;
>>>
>>> Feb 2 16:35:24 mail qmail-smtpd[26693]: Realime Blacklist check
>>> failed (******@malleedgp.com.au) -> (*****@******.org.au)
>>> [203.208.80.98] HELO malleedgp.com.au)
>>>
>>> The IP doesn't seem to be listed in any blacklists - why might qmail
>>> be rejecting it?
>>>
>>> P.S. I have inherited this server, so I'm not 100% sure what's on it...

>>
>>
>>
>> Either the IP is listed on a blacklist, or your qmail is
>> misconfigured. Since neither of us knows how your system is
>> configured, it's anybody's guess which is the case.
>>

>
> Where does qmail keeps its settings on whether (or how) to check a
> blacklist? I can't find any...
>
> Thanks


You should consult the documentation of the qmail package you installed
since it is definately not the stock package from
http://yp.cr.to/qmail.html.

Or you have applied a qmail patch available on http://www.qmail.org/ or
from Dave's site http://www.lifewithqmail.org or elsewhere.

This check appears to deal with the MAPS RBL list.

AK
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2006
Zoopra.com
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: qmail blacklist - where is it coming from?

Dave Sill wrote:
> "Zoopra.com" <noreply@zoopra.com> writes:
>
>
>>Where does qmail keeps its settings on whether (or how) to check a
>>blacklist? I can't find any...

>
>
> qmail doesn't doo blacklists itself. qmail doesn't even do TCP
> itself. In a typical qmail installation, TCP is implemented using the
> ucspi-tcp package, and run via the daemontools package from the
> /service directory. Blacklist checking--if enabled--is done by
> rblsmtpd, e.g., in /service/qmail-smtpd/run.
>
> But that's just a typical installation...
>


Using FreeBSD 4.5 with inetd. Would tcp-env be failing to set
TCPREMOTEHOST?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0