Qmail with PTR check

This is a discussion on Qmail with PTR check within the alt.comp.mail.qmail forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; Hi all, Some of our client has correspondence deal with AOL server and return with error messages as follow : Hi. ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.qmail

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2005
PaulDarius
 
Posts: n/a
Default Qmail with PTR check

Hi all,

Some of our client has correspondence deal with AOL server and return
with error messages as follow :

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at mx0.mydomain.net.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<destination@aol.com>:
205.188.155.89 failed after I sent the message.
Remote host said: 421-: (DNS:NR)
http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/421dnsnr.html
421 SERVICE NOT AVAILABLE
I'm not going to try again; this message has been in the queue too
long.

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
...cut..

Seems that AOL reject all email from any domain without PTR setup. We
just fix our problem to do the proper setup of PTR.

Next, we want our mail server doing the same things too. I tried to
search into qmail.org but only find Chuck Foster link to
http://qmail.cbn.net.id/ucspi-tcp-0.84-domain.patch.

The current version of install ucspi-tcp in our box is 0.88

The question are :
+ will ucspi-tcp-0.84-domain.patch work for ucspi-tcp-0.88 ?
+ if no, what other utilities or patches can be used for PTR check
purposes ?

Regards

PD

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2005
PaulDarius
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Qmail with PTR check

>From few days searching, I found an article on other mailing list as
follow :

===== start of snipped =====
> (b) whose double-reverse DNS listing doesn't match their IP address, a la
> "tcpserver -p".


worse idea. I actually did this for a while. I had to shut it off
because I
blocked too many hosts (including several mailing lists I'm subscribed
to)

> First: are (a) and/or (b) a Good Idea? (I've seen some opinions to the
> effect that this will result in blocking too much legitimate mail, but
> I don't know if that's still current thinking...)
>
> Assuming they are, it looks like the best idea yet is to run "tcpserver
> -p" and use something like this in the tcprules:
>
> =:allow,
>
> :allow,RBLSMTPD="-You have no reverse dns"


that's how you'd do it. However, I used a slightly less offensive
statement
when I did mine:
:allow,RBLSMTPD="reverse dns lookup failure"

===== end of snipped =====

Can someone give an ideas and or clues ?

Regards

PD

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0