Why does qmail reject this email ??

This is a discussion on Why does qmail reject this email ?? within the alt.comp.mail.qmail forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; Hi: I have found that some emails are returned from the server because they say that relay is not accepted, ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.qmail

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-27-2003
Miguel
 
Posts: n/a
Default Why does qmail reject this email ??

Hi:
I have found that some emails are returned from the server because
they say that relay is not accepted, here is a message that was
requested by a qmail server that was addressed to receipents in that
server, but It returns Error 544.

I have reveiewed the email servers IP black lists and our server is
not not listed in any of them, what is wrong with my email?
Can any one please help to tell why is this being rejected?
Is there anything wrong with the headers?
Thanks in advance.
Miguel

Here is the email sent from qmail:


Hi. This is the qmail-send program at ns2.whirlpool.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't
work
out.

<alejandro@whirlpool.com;sergio@adcns9.whirlpool.c om>:
158.52.218.56 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 554 Relay rejected for policy reasons.
Giving up on 158.52.218.56.

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Return-Path: <amen@grupoGCM.com>
Received: (qmail 12779 invoked by alias); 24 Jun 2003 00:13:18 -0000
Delivered-To:
alejandro@whirlpool.com;sergio@whirlpool.com Received:
(qmail 12393 invoked from network); 24 Jun 2003 00:12:31 -0000
Received:
from iceman.whirlpool.com (158.52.2.5)
* by ns2.whirlpool.com with SMTP; 24 Jun 2003 00:12:31 -0000
Received: from host-200-76-178-65.block.alestra.net.mx(200.76.178.65)
by
iceman.whirlpool.com via csmap
******** id 26955; Mon, 23 Jun 2003 20:10:40 -0400 (EDT)
Received: (qmail 2888 invoked by uid 404); 24 Jun 2003 00:13:06 -0000
Received: from amen@grupoGCM.com by ns.grupogcm.com by uid 401 with
qmail-scanner-1.16
*(. *Clear:.
*Processed in 1.061179 secs); 24 Jun 2003 00:13:06 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO www.grupogcm.com) (127.0.0.1)
* by localhost with SMTP; 24 Jun 2003 00:13:04 -0000
Received: from 200.75.11.74
* * * * (SquirrelMail authenticated user amen)
* * * * by grupogcm.com with HTTP;
* * * * Mon, 23 Jun 2003 19:13:04 -0500 (CDT)
Message-ID: <1336.200.75.11.74.1056413584.squirrel@grupogcm.co m>
Date: Mon, 23 Jun 2003 19:13:04 -0500 (CDT)
Subject: [Fwd: Re:RE: CONSIGNMENT: MAY 2003]
From: "J Antonio" <amen@grupoGCM.com>
To: Narciso@whirlpool.com
Cc: alejandro@whirlpool.com;sergio@whirlpool.com
Reply-To: amen@grupogcm.com
User-Agent: SquirrelMail/1.4.0
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;charset=iso-8859-1;
* * *boundary="----=_20030623191304_87097"
X-Priority: 3
Importance: Normal

------=_20030623191304_87097
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit


Como me pueden ayudar con nancy..? tm
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-27-2003
Dave Sill
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Why does qmail reject this email ??

listas@chistorete.com (Miguel) writes:

> I have found that some emails are returned from the server because
> they say that relay is not accepted, here is a message that was
> requested by a qmail server that was addressed to receipents in that
> server, but It returns Error 544.
>
> I have reveiewed the email servers IP black lists and our server is
> not not listed in any of them, what is wrong with my email?
> Can any one please help to tell why is this being rejected?
> Is there anything wrong with the headers?


There are several problems.

> Here is the email sent from qmail:
>
>
> Hi. This is the qmail-send program at ns2.whirlpool.com.
> I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
> addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't
> work
> out.
>
> <alejandro@whirlpool.com;sergio@adcns9.whirlpool.c om>:


First, that's almost certainly not a valid recipient. It looks like
two addresses glued together with a semicolon (a comma should be used
to separate addresses in a list.)

> 158.52.218.56 does not like recipient.
> Remote host said: 554 Relay rejected for policy reasons.
> Giving up on 158.52.218.56.


Second, "554 Relay rejected for policy reasons." is not a qmail error
message.

> Delivered-To:
> alejandro@whirlpool.com;sergio@whirlpool.com Received:
> (qmail 12393 invoked from network); 24 Jun 2003 00:12:31 -0000


Something has randomly wrapped and joined two header fields--probably
your news agent.

--
Dave Sill Oak Ridge National Lab, Workstation Support
Author, The qmail Handbook <http://web.infoave.net/~dsill>
<http://lifewithqmail.org/>: Almost everything you always wanted to know.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2003
Jonathan de Boyne Pollard
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Why does qmail reject this email ??

* The error message reported is not being generated by "qmail".
* It is not "qmail" that is rejecting the mail.
* The error is _correct_.
* You caused the error with the "Cc:" field on your original message.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0