This is a discussion on Rank newbie, patience, please within the alt.comp.mail.postfix forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; Long post, reveals my lack of understanding. Moved from FC6 to Ubuntu 3 weeks ago. Never got sendmail to play ...
|
|||||||
| FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|||
|
Long post, reveals my lack of understanding. Moved from FC6 to Ubuntu 3
weeks ago. Never got sendmail to play nice, tried postfix, it's running. I use both a client, and access .db. In access, one may discard, but not in client. Spammers love to send to azpry4df@mydomain.com. No such user, bounces, but the bounce goes to some poor soul who has never emailed in here. I think this has been termed "backscatter", right? I get 4,5 a week, from places I have never sent email. I discard mail to unknown users, rather than bounce it. But, what about the client .db? I love using zen.spamhaus.org, but, doesn't it 550 the rejects? I don't know with certainty where these are going, or if the spam is being propagated using ME as a party to it. Some explanation would be appreciated. |
|
|||
|
ray wrote:
> Long post, reveals my lack of understanding. Moved from FC6 to Ubuntu 3 > weeks ago. Never got sendmail to play nice, tried postfix, it's running. I > use both a client, and access .db. In access, one may discard, but not in > client. Spammers love to send to azpry4df@mydomain.com. No such user, > bounces, but the bounce goes to some poor soul who has never emailed in > here. I think this has been termed "backscatter", right? I get 4,5 a week, > from places I have never sent email. I discard mail to unknown users, > rather than bounce it. But, what about the client .db? > I love using zen.spamhaus.org, but, doesn't it 550 the rejects? I don't > know with certainty where these are going, or if the spam is being > propagated using ME as a party to it. Some explanation would be > appreciated. > Set up an SPF record if your ISP will allow it. That tells the rejecting domain whether the sender was forged. If it was, the rejecting domain knows not to bother sending the reject message. See: http://www.kitterman.com/spf/validate.html for a description of SPF records and testing/configuration tools. -- martin@ | Martin Gregorie gregorie. | Essex, UK org | |
|
|||
|
Thank you sir, they won't, policy: NO SERVERS. I am a bit in violation of
the TOS, but, I pay my bill, and if I get run off, there's always other providers, right? Just this morning, I have rejected a place called tiscali.it. He hit me 31 times, each time drawing a 550, wasn't he using me to send spam to some innocent soul? Discarding these violates the RFC, I know, but I would do that if I could. On Tue, 18 Sep 2007 12:31:52 +0100, Martin Gregorie wrote: > ray wrote: >> Long post, reveals my lack of understanding. Moved from FC6 to Ubuntu 3 >> weeks ago. Never got sendmail to play nice, tried postfix, it's running. I >> use both a client, and access .db. In access, one may discard, but not in >> client. Spammers love to send to azpry4df@mydomain.com. No such user, >> bounces, but the bounce goes to some poor soul who has never emailed in >> here. I think this has been termed "backscatter", right? I get 4,5 a week, >> from places I have never sent email. I discard mail to unknown users, >> rather than bounce it. But, what about the client .db? >> I love using zen.spamhaus.org, but, doesn't it 550 the rejects? I don't >> know with certainty where these are going, or if the spam is being >> propagated using ME as a party to it. Some explanation would be >> appreciated. > > > Set up an SPF record if your ISP will allow it. That tells the rejecting > domain whether the sender was forged. If it was, the rejecting domain > knows not to bother sending the reject message. See: > > http://www.kitterman.com/spf/validate.html > > for a description of SPF records and testing/configuration tools. > > |
|
|||
|
In article <gvqdnedd5aWwHnLbnZ2dnUVZ_sCtnZ2d@comcast.com>, ray wrote:
> use both a client, and access .db. In access, one may discard, but not in > client. Spammers love to send to azpry4df@mydomain.com. No such user, In /etc/postfix/main.cf: smtpd_recipient_restrictions = ... check_recipient_access hash:/etc/postfix/recipients ... In /etc/postfix/recipients: azpry4df@mydomain.com REJECT Bogus address, backscatter, go away! postmap hash:recipients > bounces, but the bounce goes to some poor soul who has never emailed in > here. I think this has been termed "backscatter", right? I get 4,5 a week, > from places I have never sent email. I discard mail to unknown users, > rather than bounce it. But, what about the client .db? > I love using zen.spamhaus.org, but, doesn't it 550 the rejects? I don't It does what you tell it to do. By default, it rejects it with a 554, but you can put that in main.cf just for documentation. smtpd_recipient_restrictions = ... reject_rbl_client zen.spamhaus.org ... maps_rbl_reject_code = 554 > know with certainty where these are going, or if the spam is being > propagated using ME as a party to it. Some explanation would be > appreciated. You could put the "reject_rbl_client" in smtpd_client_restrictions. If you did that, you would never find out (in your log) who the spammer was trying to send to, and you would reject messages to postmaster from listed clients, violating RFC2142. You would also generate queries to Spamhaus for transactions that might have been blocked by "check_recipient_access" without generating network traffic. Every DNS query Postfix generates causes a system call and a context switch. If you are not running a names cache (aka DNS forwarder aka local name server) on the same machine, it takes a trip through the network card driver. So unless you have many thousands of items in your hash tables, or hundreds of regular expressions in your PCRE or POSIX Regexp tables, you should put your Postfix internal checks ahead of any DNSBL checks. The names "smtpd_client_restrictions" and "smtpd_recipient_restrictions" may give you the wrong idea. They are about when in the transaction each restriction happens. Not about what the restrictions under them do. You can block certain clients in smtpd_recipient_restrictions. You can't block messages to certain recipients in smtpd_client_restrictions, because that early in the SMTP dialog you don't know who the recipients are yet. BTW, you will get more help if you compose a very specific subject line. Most people who go to the trouble of answering questions here are doing it for the benefit of the people who will be looking for the same answer next month or next year. (It's really not worth the effort to answer each newbie question one by one; it only becomes worthwhile if we are answering it "once and for all.") Those people, we hope, will look in the newsgroup archive before asking a question which might have been answered recently. They will most likely find the previous answer if your subject line was really good. This is a cooperative venture. Your contribution is to write the very best description ever seen of what your problem is. Tell us where you looked for the answer before you came here. Tell us exactly what you tried. Quote the relevant parts of your config files. Quote whatever error messages you got. Chances are the authors of any documentation will not believe it was inadequate, but if enough people hit the same roadblock they might actually improve it. And in the mean time, your question and my answer add to the supplementary documentation. If this is a new concept to you, please read Eric Raymond's essay (google for it) "How to Ask Questions the Smart Way." Cameron |
|
|||
|
ray wrote:
> Thank you sir, they won't, policy: NO SERVERS. I am a bit in violation of > the TOS, but, I pay my bill, and if I get run off, there's always other > providers, right? > SPF doesn't need another server. Its just an additional record in the DNS server that defines your domain name (which might be a subdomain within your ISP's domain). As for the TOS - there are ways of running Postfix so that your ISP will never know that its there: - use fetchmail to retrieve your mail from your mailbox at the ISP via POP3 and pass it to Postfix. This has the additional benefit of not requiring a hole in your firewall for incoming SMTP connections. - Postfix uses SMTP to send outgoing mail. That isn't easily distinguishable from a mail client using SMTP for the same purpose provided that Postfix defines "relayhost" to send outgoing mail via the ISP's mail server. FWIW I use a pipeline: fetchmail | spamc | sendmail so all mail has already been scanned by Spamassassin before it is forwarded to Postfix by the Postfix sendmail utility. I'm happy that Spamassassin isn't generating false positives, so it the next week or two I'll write and install a spam trap so that messages tagged as spam by Spamassassin are silently discarded before they get to Postfix: fetchmail | spamc | spamtrap | sendmail and I'll do it in such a way that fetchmail thinks the spam has been delivered. -- martin@ | Martin Gregorie gregorie. | Essex, UK org | |