This is a discussion on Error: domain of sender address does not exist within the alt.comp.mail.postfix forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; Hi to everyone, I am trying to send mails via postfix, courier-imad. When I am trying to send a ...
|
|||||||
| FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
|
|||
|
Hi to everyone,
I am trying to send mails via postfix, courier-imad. When I am trying to send a mail, I get follwing messages in the log file. This means that the mailserver, which is responding (destination host of my sent mail), does not accept my mail, because the mail comes from an unknown host. My question is: my host mail server is: cuba.territoriumonlineX.com the domain is territoriumonline.com. Is that the reason, why the destination host is not accepting my mail?? Do I need do alias my host somehow for postfix This is the error log Nov 3 23:55:04 cuba postfix/pickup[11947]: C8E8E6400C6: uid=0 from=<root> Nov 3 23:55:04 cuba postfix/cleanup[13408]: C8E8E6400C6: message-id=<20061103225504.GA13403@cuba> Nov 3 23:55:04 cuba postfix/qmgr[11661]: C8E8E6400C6: from=<root@cuba.territoriumonlineX.com>, size=429, nrcpt=1 (queue active) Nov 3 23:55:05 cuba postfix/smtp[13413]: C8E8E6400C6: to=<markus.innerebner@provinzX.bz.it>, relay=ms.provinz.bz.it[62.101.0.5], delay=1, status=bounced (host ms.provinz.bz.it[62.101.0.5] said: 501 5.1.8 Domain of sender address root@cuba.territoriumonlineX.com does not exist (in reply to MAIL FROM command)) Nov 3 23:55:06 cuba postfix/cleanup[13408]: 0CF646401BE: message-id=<20061103225506.0CF646401BE@cuba.territoriumonl ineX.com> thanks for any help markus |
|
|||
|
Markusin wrote:
> Hi to everyone, > > I am trying to send mails via postfix, courier-imad. > When I am trying to send a mail, I get follwing messages in the log > file. This means that the mailserver, which is responding (destination > host of my sent mail), does not accept my mail, because the mail comes > from an unknown host. > > My question is: my host mail server is: cuba.territoriumonlineX.com > the domain is territoriumonline.com. Is that the reason, why the > destination host is not accepting my mail?? > > Do I need do alias my host somehow for postfix > > > This is the error log > > Nov 3 23:55:04 cuba postfix/pickup[11947]: C8E8E6400C6: uid=0 from=<root> > Nov 3 23:55:04 cuba postfix/cleanup[13408]: C8E8E6400C6: > message-id=<20061103225504.GA13403@cuba> > Nov 3 23:55:04 cuba postfix/qmgr[11661]: C8E8E6400C6: > from=<root@cuba.territoriumonlineX.com>, size=429, nrcpt=1 (queue active) > Nov 3 23:55:05 cuba postfix/smtp[13413]: C8E8E6400C6: > to=<markus.innerebner@provinzX.bz.it>, > relay=ms.provinz.bz.it[62.101.0.5], delay=1, status=bounced (host > ms.provinz.bz.it[62.101.0.5] said: 501 5.1.8 Domain of sender address > root@cuba.territoriumonlineX.com does not exist (in reply to MAIL FROM > command)) > Nov 3 23:55:06 cuba postfix/cleanup[13408]: 0CF646401BE: > message-id=<20061103225506.0CF646401BE@cuba.territoriumonl ineX.com> > > thanks for any help > > markus Apparently the remote site is verifying the string cuba.territoriumonlineX.com to make sure it has either a valid "A" or "MX" record in DNS. Without one of those records, the email cannot be replied to. Therefore, some sites won't accept email matching this condition. The solution is to always send email using a FROM address that is a valid Internet domain name (one that has a MX or A record in DNS). -- Greg |
|
|||
|
Hi Greg
thanks for your super-quick answer. In fact this domain does not have his own mx entry. By typing in the website www.mxtoolsbox the entries, I get following result: 1) www.territoriumonlineX.com (with this domain it will be refused) ---MX---> srv1.mf.rolmail.net, srv2.mf.rolmail.net 2) www.innerebnerX.net (with this one it works) ---MX---> mailin.dcpserver.de, mailin3.dcpserver.de As you cann see I add on each site an X after the domainname. > Apparently the remote site is verifying the string > cuba.territoriumonlineX.com to make sure it has either a valid > "A" or "MX" record in DNS. I was able to identify the Mx record, with mxtoolsbox, but not how to identify the A record in DNS. My question is, how can I resolve that problem? regards Markus |
|
|||
|
Markusin wrote:
> Hi Greg > > thanks for your super-quick answer. > In fact this domain does not have his own mx entry. > By typing in the website www.mxtoolsbox the entries, I get following result: > > 1) www.territoriumonlineX.com (with this domain it will be refused) > ---MX---> srv1.mf.rolmail.net, srv2.mf.rolmail.net > > 2) www.innerebnerX.net (with this one it works) > ---MX---> mailin.dcpserver.de, mailin3.dcpserver.de > > As you cann see I add on each site an X after the domainname. > >> Apparently the remote site is verifying the string >> cuba.territoriumonlineX.com to make sure it has either a valid >> "A" or "MX" record in DNS. > > I was able to identify the Mx record, with mxtoolsbox, but not how to > identify the A record in DNS. > > > My question is, how can I resolve that problem? > > regards > Markus I'm not really sure what the question is. But I'll take a shot at answering it anyway. The three command tools which are most commonly used for DNS lookups are: nslookup, dig, and host Most linux systems have all three of them. Here's some examples of how to use them to lookup A and MX records: $ host -t A www.innerebner.net $ host -t MX www.innerebner.net $ dig A www.innerebner.net $ dig MX www.innerebner.net $ nslookup -query=A www.innerebner.net $ nslookup -query=MX www.innerebner.net If you need some MX or A records added, you need to contact whoever runs the DNS servers for your domains. For the innerebner.net domain, the DNS service is provided by artfiles.de (Phone: +49 40 32 02 72 92 ) For the territoriumonline.com domain, the DNS service is provided by raiffeisen.net (Phone +39 0471 945133) -- Greg |