postfix-2.2.10 strange problem

This is a discussion on postfix-2.2.10 strange problem within the alt.comp.mail.postfix forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; hi all, i have configured a postfix avirus/aspam relay host amavisd-new, clamav, spamassassin. this host filter all incaming ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.postfix

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006
teo
 
Posts: n/a
Default postfix-2.2.10 strange problem

hi all,
i have configured a postfix avirus/aspam relay host amavisd-new, clamav,
spamassassin. this host filter all incaming mail on port 25 and forward
it to the real mailserver via ($forward_method = ...) in amavisd.conf
and local_recipient_maps = [void] in main.cf

this relay works perfectly for a few mounth but yesterday i have found a
strange message passed from. this is an example of the 2000 passwd and
sent to a blackberry user....

Oct 24 17:45:29 relayposta amavis[26916]: (26916-07) Passed CLEAN,
[85.37.16.21] <> -> <pulizia@ol.it>, Message-ID:
<syrYrZuvb00011a53@smtpout19.attiva.biz>, mail_id: m9amcfW9u7mc, Hits:
0.562, queued_as: 34BD51F6312, 2585 ms

my question is:
how can i block this type of mails ?
and,
is it right the local_recipient_maps = [void] if i want to forward all
mail to another host ?

thanks for your help
matteo

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2006
Bas S.Th. Verdult
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: postfix-2.2.10 strange problem

en 25/10/2006 07:36 teo ha escrito:

> is it right the local_recipient_maps = [void] if i want to forward all
> mail to another host ?


Is it really forwarding you want (to an e-mail account on another host)
or relaying all mail for a given domain to another host?

See:
http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.html#relayhost
http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.html#relay_domains
http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.ht...recipient_maps
http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.ht...relayhost_maps
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2006
teo
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: postfix-2.2.10 strange problem

Bas S.Th. Verdult ha scritto:
> en 25/10/2006 07:36 teo ha escrito:
>
>> is it right the local_recipient_maps = [void] if i want to forward all
>> mail to another host ?

>
> Is it really forwarding you want (to an e-mail account on another host)
> or relaying all mail for a given domain to another host?
>
> See:
> http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.html#relayhost
> http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.html#relay_domains
> http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.ht...recipient_maps
> http://www.postfix.org/postconf.5.ht...relayhost_maps


it forward all mail domain from a host to the real mailserver
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2006
Bas S.Th. Verdult
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: postfix-2.2.10 strange problem

en 25/10/2006 07:36 teo ha escrito:
> is it right the local_recipient_maps = [void] if i want to forward all
> mail to another host ?


[void] means 'any address is valid'.
http://www.postfix.org/LOCAL_RECIPIENT_README.html

If you don't need "local", then it's even better to avoid it at once:

local_recipient_maps = hash:$dir/empty

Where empty is an empty hash file, and use virtual aliases and/or
transports for example to implement the few "local" tasks that you need.

For forwarding/relaying all mail to a another mailserver you don't need
"local".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2006
Bas S.Th. Verdult
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: postfix-2.2.10 strange problem

en 26/10/2006 07:52 teo ha escrito:

> it forward all mail domain from a host to the real mailserver


Okay, postfix forwards «like an internal intermediate relayserver» all
maildomains to another mailserver that host the useraccounts (where the
users can obtain their mail.)

I assume that your current postfix setup doesn't know which recipients
are valid, regarding the logline you posted earlier (accepting mail for
a nonexistent domain pulizia@ol.it).

Roughly you probably want:

relayhost = [ipaddress_of_other_mail_server]
smtpd_recipient_restrictions =
permit_mynetworks
...
reject_unverified_recipient

http://www.postfix.org/ADDRESS_VERIFICATION_README.html

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0