"null route" messages to specific external recipient?

This is a discussion on "null route" messages to specific external recipient? within the alt.comp.mail.postfix forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; We have a custom application that sends notification to a hardcoded email address external to our domain, with the sender ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.postfix

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2005
JC
 
Posts: n/a
Default "null route" messages to specific external recipient?

We have a custom application that sends notification to a hardcoded
email address external to our domain, with the sender being the address
of the user currently logged in.

This address is no longer valid, so each time a notification is sent, a
bounce is sent back to the user of the application indicating this.

This is a legacy application and do not have access to the source code.

Is there any way to simply "null route" messages sent to this
recipient, ie: notify@external-domain.com.

I have tried using the following in main.cf:

smtpd_recipient_restrictions = check_recipient_access
hash:/etc/postfix/blacklist_recipients, permit_mynetworks,
reject_unauth_destination

With blacklist_recipients containing:

notify@external-domain.com REJECT


but this still generates a bounce. I would like there to be no bounce
for this address. Other addresses for external-domain.com still need to
function though.

Thank you for any insight!

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2005
Greg Hackney
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: "null route" messages to specific external recipient?


Try changing the "REJECT" to "DISCARD"

--
Greg

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2005
JC
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: "null route" messages to specific external recipient?

Thanks Greg. I have just tried this but get the following error in
maillog:

"warning: access table hash:/etc/postfix/blacklist_recipients: with
smtpd_proxy_filter specified, action DISCARD is unavailable"

I am new to postfix, I have just come from qmail, still getting my
bearing straight.

This system is setup with amavisd-new (funning clamav and spam
assassin) running as a proxy in front of postfix. Perhaps I need to do
my filtering within amavisd?

Could I somehow rewrite the recipient address to redirect to a local
"junk" account that gets cleared out periodically?

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0