What is Postfix?

This is a discussion on What is Postfix? within the alt.comp.mail.postfix forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; This is an example message that sometimes appears in my mailbox. I know nothing about postfix except that sometimes it ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.postfix

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2004
zeus
 
Posts: n/a
Default What is Postfix?

This is an example message that sometimes appears in my mailbox. I know
nothing about postfix except that sometimes it appears to reject mail that I
send out. I've gone to the postfix webpage but I am still wondering what is
causing this, my end or their end, or both and what can I do to put a stop
to it? Which postmaster am I supposed to write to....theirs or mine? Where
does safepages.com fit into this? The addresses I send to are never
safepages.com The rejections seem to come when they feel like it. Most of
the time the email goes through. What gives? Is this some kind of
experiment or something being developed as it goes along? Is there a virus
or worm involved?

The message:

This is the Postfix program at host mail11.mdx.safepages.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The Postfix program

<###########@juno.com>: host mx.nyc.untd.com[64.136.20.83] said: 550
###########@juno.com Account Inactive (in reply to RCPT TO command)



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2004
Martin Smith
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: What is Postfix?

On Mon, 20 Dec 2004 15:28:45 -0700, zeus <zeus@notme.sp> wrote:
> This is an example message that sometimes appears in my mailbox. I know
> nothing about postfix except that sometimes it appears to reject mail that I
> send out. I've gone to the postfix webpage but I am still wondering what is
> causing this, my end or their end, or both and what can I do to put a stop
> to it? Which postmaster am I supposed to write to....theirs or mine? Where
> does safepages.com fit into this? The addresses I send to are never
> safepages.com The rejections seem to come when they feel like it. Most of
> the time the email goes through. What gives? Is this some kind of
> experiment or something being developed as it goes along? Is there a virus
> or worm involved?
>
> The message:
>
> This is the Postfix program at host mail11.mdx.safepages.com.
>
> I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be
> be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.
>
> For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>
>
> If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
> delete your own text from the attached returned message.
>
> The Postfix program
>
><###########@juno.com>: host mx.nyc.untd.com[64.136.20.83] said: 550
> ###########@juno.com Account Inactive (in reply to RCPT TO command)


Well since you dont seem to have noticed, look at the very last line
the account at juno you are mailing is inactive, presumably it has not been
used for some time... you could try snail mail or phone as an alternative

--
Martin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0