How to delete a specific recipient

This is a discussion on How to delete a specific recipient within the alt.comp.mail.postfix forums, part of the Mail Servers and Related category; Hello, I have an email address that got onto a spam list, so want to reject all email coming to ...


Go Back   Usenet Forums > Mail Servers and Related > alt.comp.mail.postfix

FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2003
tobor
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to delete a specific recipient

Hello,

I have an email address that got onto a spam list, so want to reject all
email coming to it. i have looked in the faq and howto's etc, but can't
see how to do it.

I have tried rejecting that address in the access file, but no luck...

Can you help?


Thanks in advance,

Karl
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2003
suomi
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How to delete a specific recipient

Hi Karl
you just erase the mail address from your virtual address list:
In my config I have:

virtual_alias_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/virtual/virtual_alias_maps
virtual_alias_domains = /etc/postfix/virtual/virtual_alias_domains

any domain/mail-address which has no entry in the above table(s), is
rejected (error code 550).
the first is a hashed lookup table (created with postmap), the second is
a plain text table.

for non-configured mailboxes you will then see something like the
following in your mail-log:

Aug 6 08:16:02 violina postfix/smtpd[4604]: A20093B9C7: reject: RCPT
from ns.4-u.com[195.141.97.100]: 550 <alkuwait@ayni.com>: User unknown
in local recipient table; from=<SheetLiquidation@xy62.com> proto=ESMTP
helo=<4-u.com>

good luck

suomi

tobor wrote:
> Hello,
>
> I have an email address that got onto a spam list, so want to reject all
> email coming to it. i have looked in the faq and howto's etc, but can't
> see how to do it.
>
> I have tried rejecting that address in the access file, but no luck...
>
> Can you help?
>
>
> Thanks in advance,
>
> Karl


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2003
tobor
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How to delete a specific recipient

Thanks for that.

i'll give it a try!

Regards

Karl



In article <3f309ee4$0$6173$5402220f@news.sunrise.ch>,
suomi <mailomail@ayni.com> wrote:

> Hi Karl
> you just erase the mail address from your virtual address list:
> In my config I have:
>
> virtual_alias_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/virtual/virtual_alias_maps
> virtual_alias_domains = /etc/postfix/virtual/virtual_alias_domains
>
> any domain/mail-address which has no entry in the above table(s), is
> rejected (error code 550).
> the first is a hashed lookup table (created with postmap), the second is
> a plain text table.
>
> for non-configured mailboxes you will then see something like the
> following in your mail-log:
>
> Aug 6 08:16:02 violina postfix/smtpd[4604]: A20093B9C7: reject: RCPT
> from ns.4-u.com[195.141.97.100]: 550 <alkuwait@ayni.com>: User unknown
> in local recipient table; from=<SheetLiquidation@xy62.com> proto=ESMTP
> helo=<4-u.com>
>
> good luck
>
> suomi
>
> tobor wrote:
> > Hello,
> >
> > I have an email address that got onto a spam list, so want to reject all
> > email coming to it. i have looked in the faq and howto's etc, but can't
> > see how to do it.
> >
> > I have tried rejecting that address in the access file, but no luck...
> >
> > Can you help?
> >
> >
> > Thanks in advance,
> >
> > Karl

>

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0