View Single Post

  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2007
ray
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Rank newbie, patience, please

Thank you sir, they won't, policy: NO SERVERS. I am a bit in violation of
the TOS, but, I pay my bill, and if I get run off, there's always other
providers, right?

Just this morning, I have rejected a place called tiscali.it. He hit me 31
times, each time drawing a 550, wasn't he using me to send spam to
some innocent soul? Discarding these violates the RFC, I know, but
I would do that if I could.


On Tue, 18 Sep 2007 12:31:52 +0100, Martin Gregorie wrote:

> ray wrote:
>> Long post, reveals my lack of understanding. Moved from FC6 to Ubuntu 3
>> weeks ago. Never got sendmail to play nice, tried postfix, it's running. I
>> use both a client, and access .db. In access, one may discard, but not in
>> client. Spammers love to send to azpry4df@mydomain.com. No such user,
>> bounces, but the bounce goes to some poor soul who has never emailed in
>> here. I think this has been termed "backscatter", right? I get 4,5 a week,
>> from places I have never sent email. I discard mail to unknown users,
>> rather than bounce it. But, what about the client .db?
>> I love using zen.spamhaus.org, but, doesn't it 550 the rejects? I don't
>> know with certainty where these are going, or if the spam is being
>> propagated using ME as a party to it. Some explanation would be
>> appreciated.
> >

> Set up an SPF record if your ISP will allow it. That tells the rejecting
> domain whether the sender was forged. If it was, the rejecting domain
> knows not to bother sending the reject message. See:
>
> http://www.kitterman.com/spf/validate.html
>
> for a description of SPF records and testing/configuration tools.
>
>

Reply With Quote