View Single Post

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2004
Christian Schmidt
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: not permitted to relay through this server - huh???

Hello Chris,

Chris Fortune schrieb/wrote:

> Exim thinks that anybody attempting to send mail is trying to relay. I just
> set up DNS, using zoneedit. All other DNS functions are working. I
> restarted bind and exim. Apache is working well serving web docs. What
> have I done wrong?


Have you told exim which domain names are "local domains"?
Have you defined who (computers or users) is/are allowed tu use your
server as relay?

> telnet spamblocker7.com 25
> Trying 209.152.167.139...
> Connected to spamblocker7.com.
> Escape character is '^]'.
> 220-1n7-139.servernode.net ESMTP Exim 4.34 #1 Wed, 22 Sep 2004
> 07:08:01 -0400
> 220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited,
> 220 and/or bulk e-mail.
> HELO fortune01.spameater.com
> 250 1n7-139.servernode.net Hello fortune01.spameater.com [69.56.237.82]
> MAIL FROM:<cfortune@telus.net>
> 250 OK
> RCPT TO:<spambloc@spamblocker7.com>
> 550-(fortune01.spameater.com) [69.56.237.82] is currently not permitted to
> 550-relay through this server. Perhaps you have not logged into the pop/imap
> 550-server in the last 30 minutes or do not have SMTP Authentication turned
> on
> 550 in your email client.


Well, that looks good IMO - supposed you don't want your server to relay
mails for the domain "spamblocker7.com".

Regards,
Christian
--
Christian Schmidt | Germany | ChriSchmiLi@gmx.de
PGP Key ID: 0x28266F2C
Reply With Quote